Crochet an easy winter hat

beginners easy crochet hat

Since learning how to crochet a few months ago I have become hooked! (Cheesy pun intended). I’ve made bralettes, scarfs, infinity scarfs and amigurumi toys.

I found this super easy pattern to crochet a winter hat and wanted to share it with you all. It’s a Lion brand yarn pattern which can be found here. I actually chained 47 to start as I copied the height of one of my favourites Abercrombie and Fitch hats.

I used:

  • a 5mm (H) crochet hook
  • yarn needle
  • worsted weight yarn from love crochet.com
  • cardboard to make a pom poms

Some useful videos:

My hat in pictures 

IMG_6661

This was after about 30 rows – I kept wrapping the fabric around my head to ensure it would fit. I made about 60-70ish rows in total

IMG_6662

The ribbed pattern

 

IMG_6667

This is after I weaved yarn through the longer length of the hat. Once threaded I pulled the yarn together and tied a couple knots to secure it. At this point it looked how it does in the above picture however there was still a small hole so I sowed it together.

IMG_6668

Here I’m sowing the side together with a yarn needle

IMG_6669

I’ve got enough left to make a pom pom!

IMG_6671

Pom pom making

IMG_6672

Watching pom pom making on YouTube

IMG_6673

IMG_6675

IMG_6676

The final product!

IMG_6772

This hat took me a few hours over two days. Single crochets seem to take  FOREVER to grow especially after my last project was made with treble crochets – but stick with it and you’ll have a lovely homemade crochet hat!

JG x

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Crochet an easy winter hat

Leave a comment