The perfect autumnal (fall) hobby that you need to start

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Think crochet is just for grannies? Think again. 

homemade crochet bralette

My homemade crochet bralette

Homemade crochet bralette

I taught myself how to crochet in an evening and within a week I had made a sexy bralette! If you don’t crochet already I highly recommend starting this Autumn (Fall).

Baby Monsters – basic amigurumi 

baby monsters amigurumi

Bob Aspen and Rosie Spice
Amigurumi crochet

I started by making these super cute baby monsters. I’d never crocheted before but found the mixture of written instructions and the youtube video to be the perfect combination to learn these basic and essential stitches. I found it so fiddly to start with and almost gave up but I’m really glad I stuck with it, even if it took me two evenings to make one monster at first. The next monster (the orange one) I made it in half the time using the same pattern but a smaller hook. By the way amigurumi is a Japanese style of crocheting stuffed toys.

With this project I learned:

  • magic ring
  • single stitches
  • crochet counting (it sounds silly but you have to count the stitches and it takes a while to get used to…maybe thats just me though lol)
  • how to fasten off

I used:

stylecraft aran yarn

Top: Aspen
Left to right: Spice, Fondant and Lipstick
Stylecraft special aran yarn

Bralette with a diamond mesh stitch 

crochet bralette

crochet bralette

diamond mesh (fishnet) stitching

crochet bralette

This was my third crochet project and I’m pleased to say that it turned out really well! I used this video to learn how the make the bralette and then another video to learn how to do the diamond mesh (fishnet) stitching. There were written instructions for a similar bralette but as a novice I found it easier to watch the technique in the video from Aqua Hannah. I tweaked the pattern slightly too as I didn’t think that a chain stitched strap would be strong enough for me and my DD’s – so I single stitched them too.

With this project I learned:

  • slip knot
  • slip stitches
  • chain stitches
  • double stitches

I used:

stylecraft yarn

My leftovers after making the bralette (enough to make a monster!)

What’s next? 

I still have a lot to learn about crochet. I need to learn how to read patterns and master even more stitches. This week, someone was telling me about a broomstick stitch and I can’t wait to give it a go and make a shawl with it. Crochet is seriously addictive!

JG x

4 thoughts on “The perfect autumnal (fall) hobby that you need to start

Leave a Reply

