So I’m thinking about going natural

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Natural hair

Little me with natural tresses

I’ve been using relaxer to straighten my hair ever since I was 11 years old. To be honest, I don’t even remember what my natural hair looks or feels like. My sole memory lays in having my mum comb it when I was a child and it hurt like hell. Though looking back at these pictures above of me as a child with my natural tresses is really making me want to put the relaxer pot down.

Why now? 

I’ve been thinking about going natural since January. My younger sister has done it and her hair is healthier and she now has a fierce looking afro. I stopped using relaxer between January and March of this year and then chickened out when the regrowth started coming through and getting tangled. I now know that when you have two different textures in your hair it’s more likely to tangle – and if I am going to go natural I need to be serious about really looking after my hair and be ready to detangle it. At the moment my hair is so chemically damaged and my scalp is dry from using relaxer. I had planned on waiting until after my wedding to go natural but I’m probably going to have a weave installed for the big day anyway…so why not now?

Big chop or slow and steady? 

Every time I’ve tried to go natural I’ve given up at around the 3 or 4 month mark. I don’t remember the last time I relaxed my hair, from a quick feel of the roots I’d say maybe end of July or beginning of August. To be honest, I would like to just do a big chop before I lose my nerve, but I’m kinda scared that I will look like a potato so we’ll see about that one. I’ve been wearing a lot of u-part wigs and weaves this year so as long as I have enough hair for a canerow or a leave-out then either way I’m sure it will be fine.

Have any tips for me? 

If you have any tips or tricks to make transitioning to natural hair any easier or products that you’ve used and loved please do comment. At this point I’m very open to advice I really don’t want to give up. I want to do it, if only, to have healthier hair.

JG x

5 thoughts on “So I’m thinking about going natural

  1. Enchanted says:

    I don’t really know how much of a tip this is but pinterest has a lot of posts with the greenhouse effect. Leaving oils in your hair for a few hours to help with growth, using products for natural curly hair like Aunt Jackies, ORS or Cantu. I’m sure those will help. 🙂
    I’m scared to go back natural once again.My hair is like a Brillo Pad my cousin says.

    Like

    • jadedeterville says:

      Oh thank you! I’ll take a look at them! 😊 Well my hair is course and if I can do it I’m sure you could. It can be kind of tangled because of the two textures but overall my hair feels soo much better already, and if I want a new do I just use a u-part or full wig 😉

      Like

      • Enchanted says:

        When my hair got chopped off in 2012, it took 9 months with the help of texturiser to grow back to the normal length. Then I didn’t go back to the hairdresser and it went back natural….until I went to NY and my aunt said my hair is an eyesore and straightened it.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

