When it’s time to take your sew-in weave out…

beyonce-pat-yo-weave

Last weekend I decided to take my vixen sew-in out. I’d had the hair extensions in for just over a month. I know that most people will say that the average time you can wear a sew-in weave for is about 6 weeks to 2 months (some even wear them for as long as 3 months), however I have quite a dry scalp and I don’t like to go that long without being able to give my hair a really deep clean. Also the longer a weave is left in, the higher the risk of tangling when it’s taken out.

Taking a sew-in weave out

If, like me you sew in your own weave and canerow (braid) the hair then you should be familiar enough with the braid pattern to be able to cut the wefts out and also remove any thread from canerows that have been sewn down. However, it is really tricky and even I have a fear that I’m going to cut my hair instead of cutting the thread. So, if you have a friend or family member that is willing to put their hands in your unwashed hair (if you haven’t washed it) then definitely enlist their help! Tip: remove your sew-in during the day or early afternoon so that the natural light makes it easier to determine thread from hair.

The canerows (braids) are out, now what? 

  1. Detangle your hair with your fingers – do this gently, your hair has been in braids for a while and had heavier hair sewn onto it so your scalp may be a little more sensitive than usual.
  2. If you have time, apply coconut oil to your hair and leave it in overnight – coconut oil is great for dry, damaged hair and it will really help make your hair softer and shiny.
  3. Wash and deep condition your hair – Use a replenishing or moisturising conditioner. I use Olive Oil Replenishing Conditioner which you can get from Superdrug or any good black hair store. It’s the same conditioner that I used to use after relaxing my hair, which is a very drying process and it left my hair really soft. Either use with heat for 15 minutes or pop a plastic bag on your head and leave the conditioner for  minimum of 45 minutes.
  4. Trim your ends – I get one of my little sisters to take off less than half an inch just to remove any dry ends.
  5. Let your hair rest – This is very important, if you can, avoid heat and any chemical treatments including relaxing for at least a week. I usually let me hair air dry and then put it in two loose braids, if i want a bit extra length then I use marley hair.

JG x

2 thoughts on “When it’s time to take your sew-in weave out…

    • jadedeterville says:

      Nope I meant canerows…I’m St Lucian so they are called that after the sugar cane rows. But yes they the same as cornrows 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

