Dark and Lovely, Amla Legend Rejuvenating Ritual: A Review

Ready to use the Amla Dark and Lovely relaxer

I love Dark and Lovely products, I’ve been getting my hair relaxed (chemically straightened) since I was 11 and though I have experimented with other brands they are always my first choice. That’s why when my sister picked up the Dark and Lovely Amla Legend for me, I knew I had to try it.

Inside the Amla legend relaxer kit
Amla Legend is made with real Amla oil and is a no mix, no lye relaxer. No mix!! I couldn’t believe it, every relaxer I have ever bought had to be activated with a two step process. When the box said that it also worked faster than a normal relaxer there was no holding me back. I put down my box of original Dark and Lovely relaxer and got my sister to apply it for me .

I was a little apprehensive as the reviews I’d seen online said that the relaxer really burned but Dark and Lovely is actually the only brand of relaxer that has never left me with a burned or sensitive scalp so I decided to go for it anyway.
If you are familiar with relaxer then you will know that you have to apply the product, after sectioning your hair in quarters and then smooth the roots with the back of a comb so that they go straight, all whilst leaving it on for 14-18 minutes depending on how fine or course your hair is.

Amla smells amazing and so much better than any other relaxer I’ve used. After the desired 18 minute processing time, the relaxer began to burn. After reading a few horror stories on the net and not wanting to damage my hair I began rinsing my hair out and was surprised to find that my hair didn’t feel as silky straight as it usually does after a Dark and Lovely relaxer. In fact it hadn’t processed at all and was still as Afro curly as if I had never applied a relaxer.

Hair is still afro curly after useing the Amla legend relaxer

Can you believe that this is my hair AFTER using the Amla Legend hair relaxer?

I was disappointed to say the least and now have to wait another two weeks before I attempt to relax it again, this time using my usual amazing original Dark and Lovely relaxer! I definitely won’t be using Amla Legend again (despite having a box still left in my room) but I will be staying loyal to Dark and Lovely.

Do you relax your hair at home? If so what brand do you use?

JG x

2 thoughts on “Dark and Lovely, Amla Legend Rejuvenating Ritual: A Review

  1. Enchanted says:

    I use ORS Olive Oil. When my aunt does my hair, it feels amazing. My new growth is quite thick and even though she says I should let her relax my hair every 2 months instead of 3, I refuse to after a bad experience with TCB relaxer.

    Like

Leave a Reply

